Research Director
San Francisco, United States

Biography

Donald's coverage areas include: technology and business strategy; transformative technologies such as insurtech, digital, connected cars and homes, the Internet of Things, core systems; and insurance technology M&A due diligence.

His recent consulting work includes: developing a strategic IT plan for a specialty insurer, core system vendor selection support; a build vs. buy analysis for core systems; and several due diligence assignments.

Light is widely quoted in the press and media, including The Wall Street Journal, The Economist, Forbes, NBC and CBS Evening News, CNBC, and National Public Radio (NPR). He is a frequent presenter at industry conferences including those sponsored by ACORD, PCI, and IASA.

Prior to joining Celent, Light was an insurance subject matter expert with Sapient and for his own firm Donald Light Consulting, where he advised senior managers at major insurers and other financial institutions. He has also held a senior research position in Allstate’s Research and Planning Center.

Light has a B.A. in economics from Princeton University, and an M.B.A. from the University of California, Berkeley.

Latest insights

View all insights

Related events

  • 2 - 3 October 2018
    Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
    Join Celent at this year's 3rd Annual InsureTech Connect Conference in Las Vegas, Nevada at the MGM Grand on 2-3 October 2018. InsureTech Connect…
  • 8 August 2018 11:00 - 12:00 EDT (16:00 BST, 17:00 CEST)
    Webinar: 8:00 AM San Francisco | 11:00 AM New York | 4:00 PM London, United States
    Join Research Director of Celent's Insurance practice, Donald Light, as he discusses how 2018 will be a critical year for insurance platforms to…
  • 1 August 2018 09:00 - 17:00 HST (15:00 EDT, 20:00 BST, 21:00 CEST)
    1366 Avenue of the Americas, United States
    Overview: Has the explosion of new technologies, and the continual media hype caused you to question if these claims are exaggerated or if your p…
  • 3 April 2018
    Webinar: 7:00 AM San Francisco | 10:00 AM New York | 3:00 PM London, United States
    Alexa, Google Home Assistant, and friends are becoming more than information utilities and background music. They are bidding to become family me…
View all events

Related news

View all news articles