Head of Risk
San Francisco, United States

Biography

Neil oversees the Risk and Compliance space at Celent. His expertise focuses on financial crime, anti-money laundering and know-your-customer compliance, AML/KYC technology, and regtech.

Neil initiated Celent's influential research on AML compliance and technology in 2002. He regularly advises leading financial institutions and technology vendors on their business, technology, and compliance strategies. His advisory engagements have included vendor selection for financial institutions, market feasibility studies for financial institutions and technology vendors, and strategic due diligence on a number of the leading compliance vendors.

Neil has been widely quoted in the press, including The Financial Times and The Nihon Keizai Shimbun, has appeared on CNBC, CNN, and TV Tokyo, and is a popular speaker at conferences in North America, Asia, and Europe.

Neil previously launched and managed Celent’s presence in Asia for 15 years and helped establish Celent’s market leading position in Japan. He holds a BA from the University of California at Berkeley and MA and PhD degrees from Harvard University. He is fluent in English, Japanese, and Chinese.

Latest insights

View all insights

Related events

  • 20 November 2019 10:00 - 11:00 PST (13:00 EST, 18:00 GMT, 19:00 CET)
    United States
  • 24 October 2019 17:00 - 20:00 EDT (22:00 BST, 23:00 CEST)
    Meet In Place 675 3rd Avenue, 3rd Floor New York, NY 10017, United States
    “Out-of-the-box” Global Shareholding Disclosures compliance – Is it Possible? Join us for a lively roundtable discussion with a panel of experts…
  • 22 October 2019 17:00 - 20:00 EDT (22:00 BST, 23:00 CEST)
    Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel - 606 Congress Street, Boston, MA 02210, United States
    “Out-of-the-box” Global Shareholding Disclosures compliance – Is it Possible? Join us for a lively roundtable discussion with a panel of expert…
  • 16 July 2019
    Webinar: 8:00 AM San Francisco | 11:00 AM New York | 4:00 PM London, United States
    After decades of slow-crawling development, risk and compliance is suddenly awash in new technologies and services aiming to remake every corner…
View all events