Research & Advisory
London, United Kingdom

Biography

Gareth's research focuses on Payments. As part of the payments team, his prime focus is on corporate payments, working closely with his colleagues in the Corporate Banking team.

He is a leading expert on:

  • bank payment processing, and is the analyst who has been covering payment services hubs the longest in the industry;
  • payment networks and infrastructures, including Swift, ACH and Wires;
  • and real-time payments, a topic he has been active in since 2006, and has worked in on almost every continent.

Gareth has been widely quoted in the media, including American Banker, New York Times and BBC News, and is a frequent speaker at such events as Sibos, EBADay, NACHA Payments, as well as private events around the world.

Prior to Celent, Gareth worked for Secura Monde International, a leading cash consultancy; as Regional Research Director of European Payments at TowerGroup; and in corporate strategy at VocaLink Ltd, the UK ACH and ATM network.

Gareth has a Bachelor of Science in Quantity Surveying from the University of Portsmouth, and a Post-Graduate Degree in Information Science from the University of North London.

Latest insights

View all insights

Related events

  • 12 January 2021 15:00 - 16:00 GMT (10:00 EST, 16:00 CET)
    United Kingdom
    A new year is a new beginning and for many, it’s a chance to put fresh goals into place with a renewed determination to achieve them. For the fr…
  • 3 December 2020 10:00 - 11:00 EST (15:00 GMT, 16:00 CET)
    United States
    Corporate payments have seen many changes in recent years, with technology and regulation transforming the industry into something almost unreco…
  • 19 November 2020 15:30 - 16:30 GMT (10:30 EST, 16:30 CET)
    United Kingdom
    European payments is moving into a brave new world with a series of landmark changes being planned across the Eurosystem’s core infrastructure.…
  • 23 - 26 September 2019
    ExCeL London, United Kingdom
    Join Patricia Hines, Gareth Lodge, and Alenka Grealish at Sibos, the annual conference, exhibition, and networking event organised by SWIFT for…
View all events

Related news

View all news articles